Surya Nepal Western Open, Sanjeev and team win Pro-Am title


     क्लिक गण्डकी     
     फागुन १२ गते २०८० मा प्रकाशित

Surya Nepal Western Open Sanjeev and team win Pro-Am title

Surya Nepal Western Open Sanjeev and team win Pro-Am title

POKHARA: Pro Sanjeev Bahadur Nepali and his team of amateurs Dipsom Lama, Balaram Thapa and Rabindra Tiwari won the title of the Surya Nepal Western Open Pro-Am at the par-69 Himalayan Golf Course on Saturday.

The team accumulated 148 points to finish first. Local pro Sanjeev scored 34 points, while 12-year-old Dipson earned 39, Balaram got 38 and Rabindra scored 37.

Dharan pro Niraj Tamang and amateurs Danieal Baniya, Milan Yakha and Anil Sinha finished second with 141 points. Niraj scored 34 points, while 13-year-old Danieal and Milan earned 36 points each and former Supreme Court Justice Anil got 35 points.

Surya Prasad Sharma and his team of amateurs Sushma Singh, Shyam Tamang and Jiwaram Gurung came third with 133 points. Pro Surya and Sushma scored 33 points each, Shyam earned 35 and Jiwaram got 32 points.

Sushma Singh won the best individual award after she accumulated 33 points. Krishna Gurung won the longest drive award on Hole No 10 and Shree Ram Thapa claimed the closest to the pin award on Hole No 4.

A total of 95 players — 19 pros and 76 amateurs — participated in the tournament. Senior Vice-president of Nepal Golf Association Pavitra Karki, Gandaki Province Golf Association President Indra Dhara Bista, Himalayan Golf Course Director Kiran KC, Kaski District Golf Association President Jiwaram Gurung, and Royal Nepal Golf Club President Madhukar Yakthumba handed over prizes to the winners.

The Surya Nepal Western Open, fourth event under Surya Nepal Golf Tour, concluded on Friday. Bhuvan Nagarkoti won the title with record total of 10-under 197. Rabi Khadka finished second at 2-over 209 and Niraj Tamang came third at 4-over 211.

National team member Sadbhav Acharya won the amateur section trophy with the score of 2-over 209, while Prajwal Gurung was runner-up at 15-over 222. A total of 50 golfers — 35 pros and 15 amateurs — took part in the 54-hole tournament which carried a cash purse of Rs 840,000.