Sherpa wins trophy


     क्लिक गण्डकी     
     भाद्र ५ गते २०७९ मा प्रकाशित

Sherpa wins trophy

Sherpa wins trophy

Kathmandu, 20th August,

Babu Sherpa won the eighth edition of Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here on Saturday. Sherpa playing with nine handicap scored three-under 69 to win the trophy. Karna Thapa finished second with the score of one-under 67 and Ravinder Saini finished third on the count back after being tied with Purna Bahadur Rai at even-par 72.   

Tashi Tshiring scored one-over 73 to win the best gross title and Aaiesteena Tandan won the ladies category with the score of six-under 66. Total of 48 golfers took part in a tournament played under stroke-play format with full handicap. Captain of Gokarna Golf Club Joseph Nathan gave away the prize to the winners of the tournament sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd.

After the eighth edition, Babu Sherpa moved to the top of the leaderboard of the club championship nett section with 240 points, Ranadeep Thapa slipped to second with 215 points. Karna Thapa climbed up to third place with 195 points, Purna Bahadur Rai moved up to fourth with 140 points, Samir Acharya is fifth with 130 points, Pavitra Kumar Karki is sixth with 125 points.  Shyam Tamang, Pradip KC and Ang Dorjee Sherpa are tied for seventh place with 100 points.  Lalit Thapa and Sriram Thapa are tied for 10th place with 90 points.

On the gross section Tashi Tshiring took the lead against his younger brother Wangchen Dhondup, Tshiring lies at top with 335 points. Wangchen slipped to second after a mediocre round today, he has total of 315 points, Vijay Shrestha Einhaus is third with 260 points. Surendra Phuyal is fourth with 230 points. Sadbhav Acharya is fifth with 190 points.

Total of 10 medal rounds will be played before selecting top 40 from nett section and top 20 from gross section for the final two rounds to decide the club champion on nett and gross category.

On the pics from left, Tashi Tshiring, Babu Sherpa, Aaiesteena Tandan, and Ravinder Saini